Our Lineage

Our Lineage

If you've heard about Wing Chun, you've probably heard of the legendary Ip Man, because he was responsible for bringing Wing Chun to Hong Kong in 1949. Our School has a direct connection to Ip Man through Grandmaster Chu Shong Tin, who started training under Ip Man on January 1, 1951, and was his third student in Hong Kong.

At the time, Ip Man was living and teaching in the Hong Kong Restaurant Workers Union’s headquarters. Both men had come to Hong Kong (from mainland China) alone, so in order to keep each other company and for the convenience of training, Chu moved to the Union too, and they both lived there for five years. Needless to say they became very close.

Chu Shong Tin trained in Ip’s school for 14 years and was the main teacher there, teaching for up to 12 hours on some days. The major focus in the early years of his training was the practice of “Siu Nim Tao” (meaning “Tiny Idea”) which is the first empty-hand form and the essence of Wing Chun. This is because Ip Man used to say: “When well-versed in Siu Nim Tao, the other parts of Wing Chun training will all be well grasped and performed too.” In the mid-1950s Ip Man, acknowledging Chu’s deep and solid foundation in Wing Chun, named Master Chu Shong Tin “The King of Siu Nim Tao”.

In 1964, Chu Shong Tin officially opened his own school in Hong Kong, and continued teaching full-time until he passed away at the age of 82. In his own words, published in his book: “Wing Chun has become my unceasing study for decades; my interest in it has not diminished even until now. I have been bound by Wing Chun my whole life, but I have no regrets.”

The head instructor of our school, Nima King, started learning Wing Chun at Master Jim Fung’s Academy in Sydney in 1998. At that time, Jim Fung was the most senior student of Chu Shong Tin in Australia. Nima first met Master Chu at a seminar in Sydney in 2004, and after experiencing the teacher’s unbelievable power he migrated to Hong Kong in 2005. He then trained under him intensively, for up to six hours a day for nine years, until Master Chu passed away in 2014.

 - Master Chu teaching Nima how to guide the student to relax his spine. Photo taken in July 2009.

- Master Chu and wife with Sebastian Soza, Nima King, Enrico Gilli and Tom Allison at his birthday celebrations in 2013

- Nima King practising Chi Sau with Ada and Sigung

 
Our Lineage

Latest News

9 September 2017

Legas Tapado, San Carlos City, Philippines

Read more

15 July 2017

Improv Your Mindful Wing Chun Practice, by Kay Ross

Read more

Get in touch

+852 6620 7050

Or send us a message and we'll contact you.

我們的師承

我們的師承

如果你曾聽說過詠春,想必你也聽過傳奇人物葉問,正是他在1949年把詠春帶到了香港。我們學校師承葉問宗師直系弟子徐尚田大師,他自1951年1月1日起正式拜葉問為師,成為葉問在香港的第三名弟子。

當時,葉問住在港九飯店職工總會,並在那裡教授詠春。和葉問一樣,徐尚田也是孤身從中國大陸來到香港,為著作伴和訓練便利之故,徐尚田也搬到了工會居住。在那裡生活的五年間,兩人的關係逐漸變得十分密切。

徐尚田在葉問的學校訓練了14年,同時也是那裡最主要的老師,有時一天的教學時間能達到12個小時。他早年的訓練專注於第一套空手拳套「小念頭」——詠春的精髓。葉問曾說「當你對小念頭遊刃有餘之時,其他的詠春技巧也能融會貫通。 」20世紀50年代中期,葉問認可徐尚田有著深厚堅實的詠春功底,並稱他為「小念頭之王」。

1964年,徐尚田在香港正式開設了自己的學校,並在那裡全職教授詠春,直至82歲那年逝世。他曾在自己的書中這樣說:「數十年來,我不斷學習詠春;至今,我的興趣都沒有絲毫減弱。我的一生都與詠春相連,從未後悔。 」

我們學校的校長Nima King於1998年在雪梨馮傳強師父開設的學院開始學習詠春。當時,馮傳強是徐尚田在澳洲最資深的學員。2004年在雪梨舉辦的一場研討會上,Nima初次見到徐尚田大師,親身體驗了他難以置信的力量後,Nima於2005年移居香港,跟隨徐尚田大師潛心練習詠春,每天6小時,堅持了9年,直到2014年徐尚田大師去世。

 - 徐尚田大師教Nima如何引導學生放鬆脊椎。照片攝於2009年7月。

- 徐尚田夫婦與Sebastian Soza, Nima King, Enrico Gilli和 Tom Allison攝於徐大師2013年大壽。

- NimaKing與Ada和師公練習黐手。

 
我們的師承

Mindful Wing Chun onLine

Start learning this unique system right from the comfort of your home through our Online School. Hundreds of hours of comprehensive instructional videos as well as our online support community await you!

Join Now

最新消息

5 December 2018

A lovely piece by CST Alumni Marty Anderson

Read more

24 May 2018

How Kung Fu and Mindfulness can impact our everyday life

Read more

Join Our Newsletter Club

Sign up for our monthly newsletters emailed straight to your inbox. Find out whats been happening lately at Mindful Wing Chun, read insight from our instructors and perfect your training regime!

歡迎查詢

+852 6620 7050

或可向我們發訊息,收到訊息後,我們將聯絡您。

聯絡我們