What is Wing Chun?

What is Wing Chun?

Wing Chun is a system of Kung Fu designed for inner health and realistic self-defence. At the pinnacle of Wing Chun stand amplified mindfulness and effortless power, also known as "Nim Lik" or "Mind Force"; this is the true essence of Wing Chun.

Unfortunately, many other styles of the art miss this point and are stuck in the external mechanical movements rather than the “state of mind” created through the intention behind each movement. For this reason we feel very privileged to have been exposed to the essence of Wing Chun by Master Chu Shong Tin, and would like to share this gem with as many people in Hong Kong as possible!

The story goes that a woman named Ng Mui devised this art in China over 300 years ago. She invented the system through the refinement of her Kung Fu knowledge, in which all unnecessary and energy-consuming movement is eliminated, making it a very practical and efficient form of self-defence. The more we delve into this art, the more we realise its perfection in terms of applying the natural laws of physics. This deepens our awe and respect for the founder of the system, who was able to not only understand these laws over 300 years ago, but also to systematise a method that could be passed down from generation to generation.

Although Wing Chun was named after the student of a lady who was a student of the founder, Yim Wing Chun, the term “Wing Chun” is often translated into English as “Everlasting Springtime”, which is a very appropriate name for this art because its philosophy and health benefits have immeasurable depth and are never-ending.

What is Wing Chun?

Latest News

27 May 2017

An invitation to Mindful Wing Chun teachers and students

Read more

13 February 2017

Grade 5 student Keven Tate shares his thoughts on visualisation, centre line(s) and pivoting.

Read more

Get in touch

+852 6620 7050

Or send us a message and we'll contact you.

詠春是什麼?

詠春是什麼?

詠春是一套功夫體系,為促進內在健康、培養實用的自衛防身術而設計。當詠春技藝達到登峰造極之時,正念便能發揮無窮威力,似無力實有力,也是我們通常所說的運用「念力」。這正是詠春的本質。

遺憾的是,許多其他武術止步於訓練外在的、物理的機械運動,而忽略了由每個動作背後的意圖所產生的「心境」。因此,我們非常榮幸能在徐尚田大師的指導下嘗試領悟詠春的精妙本質,並希望與盡可能多的在香港的人士分享這一瑰寶!

傳說中一位名為「五枚」的師太於300年前在中國創始了詠春。她通過消除所有不必要和耗能的運動來完善自身功夫學問,發明了這一套實用有效的自衛防身術。當我們越深入鑽研這門藝術時,我們越發認識到就應用自然物理規律而言它可謂完美。這一認識加深了我們對這套體系創始者的敬畏之情——她不僅僅早在300年前就參透這些規律,更值得稱道的是她將自然規律系統化成一套方法,讓整個詠春體系能代代傳承下去。

雖然「詠春」是以創始人的首位學生嚴詠春命名,但「詠春」一詞在被翻譯成英語時通常意譯為「永恆的春天」,作為這門藝術的名稱倒也頗為合適,因為其哲理之深無法估量,於健康之益永無止境。

詠春是什麼?

最新消息

24 May 2018

How Kung Fu and Mindfulness can impact our everyday life

Read more

16 May 2018

Witnessed by Mike Del Campo

Read more

歡迎查詢

+852 6620 7050

或可向我們發訊息,收到訊息後,我們將聯絡您。